- Hide menu

Flows Beneath

The Brooklyn Philharmonic performing Flows Beneath with the Pan Sonatas Steel Orchestra

About the work:

for chamber orchestra and steel pan ensemble
duration: 10 minutes

Commissioned by/Premiere:

The Brooklyn Philharmonic, Alan Pierson, conductor
October 25, 2012 at the World Financial Center, New York, NY


Download Perusal Score


About the work:

While composing this work for steel pans and orchestra, I had a terribly difficult time coming up with a title for the piece. I knew that the music would be alternately dramatic and lyrical, and that the constant presence of the steel pan ensemble—gently undulating throughout—would be the unifying element of the piece. But I could not find a title. Finally, I asked the poet Carolyn Forché, with whom I was in residence with at the Civitella Ranieri Artists Colony, to help me. I showed her much of the piece, playing the samples of steel pans against my own piano reduction of the score. She said to me, “It sounds like a frozen river, but one where—deep below the surface—there is still water that flows beneath.” I felt that image perfectly reflected my musical ideas; hence the title Flows Beneath